Skip to content

Cuddles Update: Two weeks

August 2, 2010

Cuddles Week 2 collage

Week 2:

Wednesday, July 28th, 2010 / Day # 8
This is the start of week # 2 at the Mange Range. Cuddles once again had a great night and we hope that she continues having them. She was very perky & spunky this morning. Her tail has gone from wagging little bits at a time to shaking her entire bum as if she were dancing!!! 🙂 I THINK I’M FALLING IN LOVE!!!!

Wednesday July 28, 2010 @ 9:47 am
Cuddles went for a 10 min walk this morn. She was sporting a Black T-shirt w/ a pink skull on it & mommy was wearing a classy black pencil skirt, aqua blouse & her 4 1/2″ heals. This is a Foster Mom on a mission!! (F. Time Job, 5 dogs, 3 kids, I’m also the landscaper & the pool girl). If this doesn’t encourage others to help rescue & foster these little creatures, then nothing will!

Thursday, July 29, 2010 / Day # 9 Evening report
Cuddles had a good day today until after her evening bath. The swelling & bleeding of her paws have been an issue since day one. Although they have gotten better, I noticed today that there are blisters in between & under her paws that are full of pus. Her skin is just so sensitive. I noticed the pus because I was cleaning her toes with a Q-tip and it just oozed out. This is causing her extreme pain on her paws. I put lidocaine spray on her paws & put socks on her each night, this is obviously not working. Have to call the vet tomorrow for help. I’ll keep everyone posted.

Friday, July 30, 2010 Evening Report
Cuddles is back to eating like normal. She had a great night and day. Tonight we did the first dip for her feet using Betadine. That was messy!!!! Thank goodness my driveway is a brick color because she left little foot prints all over it!! 🙂 I will be concentrating on getting those little paws better this weekend. I’m sure she will show some improvements by Sunday night.

Friday, July 30, 2010
One more thing before we say good night…….I got a KISS from Cuddles today!!!! YES she licked my face like 5-6 times I was so excited. This was the first kiss I got since her arrival. ♥ Sorry Kym, I beat you to it!!!

Saturday, July 31, 2010 / Evening report
Cuddles got her first “Exfoliating bath” today. I just used a small soft facial scrubing pad on her skin & got rid of all of the dead skin & all the yucky stuff she had on her body. She feels like a new born baby!!!!! Paws are still the same. Its only been 24 hours of the new treatments, work in progress…

Saturday, July 31, 2010
Cuddles was visited by her Auntie Lynne again this time she brought her husband Peter.
While Lynne was giving Cuddles lots of love & affection, Peter had the honor of playing with little Douggie. (Mange baby # 2) He has lots of energy and Kisses to give!!!

Auntie Kym & Nana are coming to visit Cuddles tomorrow afternoon. Nana was the lucky one that held Cuddles in her lap when they picked her up from the Humane Society in Key Largo. That was Nana’s first doggie rescue. Tomorrow is her birthday so she’s driving down from Boca Raton to visit, she said that visiting Cuddles is her birthday present!! Isn’t that so sweet!!! Can’t wait to see you!!!

Sunday, August 1, 2010 / Evening Report
Auntie Kyn & Nana came & spent 2 wonderful hours with Cuddles & Douggie. Kym & Nana even assisted me w/ Cuddles daily foot soaks & med application. Although Cuddles little paws are sooo sensitive, we have to do it. Kym got a first hand look at what I have to do everyday. Thanks for your help Kym & Nana. Oh yeah, A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Nana!!!! 

Cuddles wardrobe increase by 6 more shirts from Auntie Kym & Nana…We’re going to need a walk-in closet!! 🙂 One of them says “I love my Mommy”…….Thanks Kym…..That one just stabbed me in the heart!!r your help Kym & Nana. Oh yeah, A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Nana!!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Gilliam permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:59 pm

    Try using virgin Coconut Oil on cuddles….My fiance uses it on his exama(sorry, can’t spell it but the dry itching skin rash) and I also use it on my doxie’s ears when they become thick, black, and scaling..My vet told me her ear veins were clogged and her ears will dye and fall off in the area that is affected…I started putting the coconut oil on her ears and they healed up. It can be used on several things as it is a natural bacteria killer…but we can also eat it so if cuddles licks herself it won’t hurt her….check into it…try looking under homepathic uses.. hope this helps her heal….

  2. Lisa Porter permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:39 am

    My prayers are with you and Cuddles for doing a phenomenal job of caring for that poor girl. I have two Dachshunds and am looking for a third, but I would definitel like it to be a rescue. You are an awesome person. Thank you for caring.

Leave a Reply

